top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle James

Twisted Thoughts...

I am no stranger to things going wrong, disappointment, injustice etc. We live in a world where there is great sorrows and sadness but there are also great joys/happiness.


Sometimes when something goes wrong, it can have the power to wipe out all the goodness and blessings I had received in that day and all I can focus on is that one thing. Then the blame comes, either myself - building up my own insecurities, dislike towards another person/system or God. This can keep thoughts twisted for longer - another tactic from satan. This can turn into a belief and automatic negative thoughts can grow out of them. My emotions/imagination can burn with passion of hate/sadness but it doesn't have to be this way.


It is ok to feel anger, all emotions come from God but its what we dwell on and our actions that count. Remembering that Satan can fuel these fires, a tactic to keep me from enjoying Gods peace helps me to see clearer.


Ephesian 4:26 In your anger do not sin. Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry and do not give the devil a foothold.


John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid


Also I use my emotions as an indicator - time to pray, time to reflect or withdraw from a situation. Lifting up the person/situation you are angry about and asking God to help them or bless them - I have found can dissipate anger or help me to forgive or encourage me to take a stand. Reflecting on what happened, asking for Gods help to see all sides and thinking about what could be done differently or asking for fogiveness. Looking at the situation from a distance can help too. Sometimes our emotions can be an indicator we are doing too much and need some space, it can also be a marker that we need to withdraw from an unhealthy relationship or situation. Asking God for wisdom in that situation, helps you to see clearly.


Its important to remember that through all of this God does not love you any less, you are a human being - a work in progress and its ok to make mistakes. You are His child, and you are loved.


Jeremiah 31:3 I have loved you with an everlasting love


I love the idea of recording Thankfulness. Keeping a journal or notebook of all the blessings you have received daily - perhaps 3 a day - to look back on when you've had a tough day, an unexpected bill or too many demands. Something to visually prompt you, that God is faithful and the little things count. To remind yourself that one bad thing does not have to wipe out a day of blessings.


Phil 4:8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.





26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Our World

Making a positive impact in God's creation

Purpose Filled Stories

© 2023 by Design for Life.

Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page