top of page
  • Writer's pictureDanielle James

Bible Colour Coding

So as you maybe aware from my last post I have bought a new bible journal. I love things that are organised and my last bibles have been highlighted and written on with whatever I had to hand. This time I am starting with the hope of colour coding basically meaning highlighting certain sections in a particular colour so that reference is nice and easy. It also looks pretty! I've no idea if I'll keep it up for the whole of the bible but figure I would give it a try.





If you have ever thought I know I'll look on Pinterest for a good coding system, then like me you may have become a bit overwhelmed. There are so many options and there is no right or wrong way. It really is about you and your time with God through His word. I looked through the graphic pins and decided I would tailor my bible coding to how I currently read Gods word and what I would like to reference for both current and future. This is what I chose:




I wanted a simple coding system and used popular colours that come in a highlighter pack or a set of coloured pencils. This way I don't have to worry about running out or finding a colour.


  • God, Jesus and Holy Spirit (purple) I chose purple to denote royalty. I will highlight speech, names, prophesies and character verses.


  • The promises of God, (yellow) I chose yellow so that it would stand out brightly. I need the promises of God to rely on to help my faith. I want to spot them easily.


  • Wisdom and Instructions (blue) I chose blue because when i think of wisdom I think of blue. This is will highlight christian living.


  • Warnings (red) obviously to denote danger. I will use this to highlight sin, Satan and evil.


  • Womanhood (pink) I like the colour pink and as these verses will highlight my role and purpose, I'm choosing a colour I like. It may seem stereotypical but its my bible to journal in and I like it!


  • Verses to meditate on (orange) no particular reason for this colour other than it's usually in the pack and I wanted to highlight verses that stand out to me or to encourage.


  • Prayers (green) there are some amazing prayers and examples of prayer in the bible. I want to be able to find them easily and learn from then.


I hope this encourages you to set up your own colour code system or to start your own. Which just leaves the question, how do you do yours?






18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Our World

Making a positive impact in God's creation

Purpose Filled Stories

© 2023 by Design for Life.

Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page